Nourishing Hearts

Do you read the bulletin? I admit that I often rush through reading it. 😦

When I took a second look this week, I read this lovely Lenten reflection.  “A Stewardship Moment” threw me off, and I almost missed it. Did you see it?

From our church bulletin, 03-13-11 (emphasis added)

A Stewardship Moment

First Sunday of Lent

At the beginning of this Lenten season we hear proclaimed the story of Jesus’ temptation in the desert. He responds to the first temptation by saying that one does not live by bread alone but on every word that comes forth from the mouth of God.

The season of Lent invites us to consider how we nourish our hearts, how we act as stewards of the Word of God entrusted to us.

A good reflection for the week:

  • What do we live on?
  • What keeps us going?
  • Could it be possessions, prestige, the need to be in control, the need for security, addictions?
  • Or the fervent desire to listen to God’s word?

The invitation to consider how I nourish my heart is what really got my attention.

If you would like to share your thoughts about this reflection, please leave a comment below. If you’re a Bloggin’ Mama and choose to post your response on your blog, please feel free to link to your post in the Comments section. That’s what I’m going to do.

God bless,

Bethany

2 Comments

Filed under Faith, Lent 2011

2 responses to “Nourishing Hearts

    • Another “nourishing when” — connecting with other Catholic moms and kids for faith, fun, and friendship! I enjoyed our get-together so very much and am thankful for yet another of God’s many blessings. 🙂

Leave a comment